History of Indian cricket team info

History of Indian cricket team
Share the article...

Indian Cricket Team History: Do you know when and against whom India played their 1st match ?, Learn the complete history of Indian cricket.

Indian Cricket Team History: National Cricket Team of India (Indian Cricket Team), also known as Team India and Men in Blue. Which is the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Is operated by. India is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Tests, ODIs and T20 Internationals. Learn more when and against whom India played their match, also know the complete history of Indian cricket team and women’s cricket team.

History of Indian cricket

The National Cricket Team of India (Indian Cricket Team), also known as Team India and Men in Blue, is run by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). India is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) along with Test, ODI and T20 International. Talking about the history of the Indian cricket team, (Indian Cricket Team History) India’s national cricket team played their first Test match at Lord’s on 25 June 1932, they became the sixth team to have the status of Test cricket. While India played their first ODI against England on 13 July 1974 in Headingley, Leeds. India were one of the weaker teams in their first five years of international cricket, winning only 35 of the 196 Test matches played during this period.

From 1932, India had to wait until 1952 for almost 20 years for its first Test victory. The team improved further with Sachin Tendulkar and Anil Kumble joining the national team in 1989 and 1990. The following year fast bowler Javagal Srinath also made his debut in the team. Despite this, India had not won any of its 33 Tests outside the subcontinent during the 1990s, while it had won 17 of the 30 Tests at home. During this time Sachin Tendulkar was the highest run-scorer in the world in both Test and ODI. During which India enjoyed the home Test series victory over Australia, which was the best team in the world.

Also read: How to make money with dream 11?

India’s performance flourished as soon as Dhoni became the captain

Rahul Dravid stepped in as captain of the team after winning the Test series against England in August 2007. After which Dhoni was named captain of the T20 and ODI team. In September 2007, India won the first T20 World Cup held in South Africa and defeated Pakistan by 5 runs in the final. In April 2009, India won their first Test series in New Zealand in 41 years. India became the number 1 Test team in the world after defeating Sri Lanka 2–0 in December 2009. On 2 April 2011, India won the 2011 Cricket World Cup defeating Sri Lanka in the final, thus becoming the third team after the West Indies and Australia to win the World Cup twice, the previous victory being in 1983. With this, India also became the first team to win the World Cup on home soil.

Indian captain

Thirty-two men have captained the Indian cricket team in at least one Test match although only six have led the team in more than 25 matches. Six have captained the team in ODIs but not in Tests. India’s first captain was CK Naidu, who led the team in four matches against England.

India’s fourth captain Lala Amarnath led the team in their first Test match after Indian independence. He also captained India for their first Test win and first series win in a three-match home series against Pakistan in 1952–53. Sunil Gavaskar took over as Test and ODI captain in 1978–79, captaining the team in 47 Test matches and 37 ODIs.

Kapil Dev won India in 39 of his 74 ODIs, including the 1983 Cricket World Cup. Sourav Ganguly became the most successful Indian captain by winning 21 out of his 49 Tests and winning 76 out of 146 ODIs.Under Dhoni’s captaincy, the Indian team secured the number one spot in the Test rankings for 21 months (Nov.2009 to Aug.2011).A national record for the most consecutive ODI wins (9 wins).Dhoni became the first captain in history to win all three major ICC trophies. The ICC World T20 in 2007 and the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. Under Kohli’s captaincy, the Indian team is creating many history. Under Kohli’s captaincy, India had been invincible in 19 Tests, beginning with a 3–0 series win.

More information about cricket please visit www.spearempire.com

Something Wrong Please Contact to Davsy Admin

Share the article...

1 thought on “History of Indian cricket team info”

  1. Pingback: first cricketer in the World- Lala Amarnath - SPEAREMPIRE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *